Code No. 402.2
CHILD ABUSE REPORTING
In compliance with state law and to provide protection to victims of child abuse, the board believes incidents of alleged child abuse should be reported to the proper authorities. Alllicensed employees, teachers, coaches and paraeducators are mandatory reporters as provided by law and are to report alleged incidents of child abuse they become aware of within the scope of their professional duties.
When a mandatory reporter suspects a student is the victim of child abuse, the mandatory reporter shall make an oral report of the suspected child abuse to theIowa Department of Human Services within 24 hours of becoming aware of the abusive incident and shall make a written report to the Iowa Department of Human Services within 48 hours following the oral report. If the mandatory reporter believes the child is in immediate danger, the local law enforcement agency willbe notified.
Within six months of their initial employment, mandatory reporters will take a two-hour training course involving the identification and reporting of child abuse or submit evidence they’ve taken the course within the previous five years. The course will be re-taken at least every five years.
Legal Reference: Iowa Code §§ 232.67-.77; 232A; 235A; 280.17 (2013).
441 I.A.C. 9.2; 155; 175.
1982 Op. Att'y Gen. 390, 417.
1980 Op. Att'y Gen. 275.
Cross Reference: 402.3 Abuse of Students by School District Employees
502.9 Interviews of Students by Outside Agencies
507 Student Health and Well-Being
Reviewed: 3/25/2009, 01/23/2014
Revised: 4/18/2009, 10.20/2016