Skip To Main Content

​​​​​​​North Polk CSD Receives STEM BEST® Program Award

​​​​​​​North Polk CSD Receives STEM BEST® Program Award
A photo of a student using a table saw.

Alleman, Iowa – The Iowa Governor’s STEM Advisory Council announced North Polk CSD as one of the 21 school districts receiving the STEM BEST® (Businesses Engaging Students and Teachers) Program award. The STEM BEST Program brings schools and businesses together to provide students with real workplace experiences. The program helps introduce students to businesses and career opportunities in Iowa, while also gaining future-focused skills.

The STEM BEST Program encourages teachers and industry professionals to work side-by-side to develop a work-based learning model that incorporates STEM subjects like mathematics and science with experiential learning opportunities to emphasize high-demand skills. The Council’s investment in professional and financial support can be used for curriculum development and coordination, educator training and development in workplace classroom integration, and preparing work-based learning environments.

The North Polk Community School District is dedicated to improving STEM education by enhancing computer systems and software for engineering and design classes at the High School. The district plans to upgrade computers with the STEM BEST Grant, aligning student programs with engineering and architecture industry standards. This enhancement will equip students with relevant software skills and opportunities for career-oriented learning experiences.

The STEM Council Executive Committee reviewed and approved 21 new or expanded partnerships supported by guidance, collaboration and financial investment of up to $40,000 each. 

The 2024 STEM BEST Program awardees are:

Center Point-Urbana School District
Central Lyon Community School District
Easton Valley Community School District
Edgewood-Colesburg Community School District
Gerald W. Kirn Middle School, Council Bluffs
Kingsley-Pierson Community School District
Lewis Central Community School District
Logan-Magnolia Community School District
Marion High School, Marion Community School District
Marion Intermediate School, Marion Community School District
North Polk Community School District
North Scott Community School District
Odebolt Arthur Battle Creek Ida Grove Community School District
Red Oak Community School District
Sioux City Community School District
Southeast Warren Community School District
Unity Christian High School
Waverly-Shell Rock Community School District
Western Christian High School
Winterset Community School District
Woodrow Wilson Jr. High, Council Bluffs

To be considered for a STEM BEST Program award, applicants were required to submit a comprehensive proposal that incorporates rigorous and relevant STEM curriculum, includes valuable partnerships with community businesses or organizations, aligns with STEM goals, addresses the sustainability of the model program, and evaluates the program’s effectiveness.

For more information on the STEM BEST Program, please visit