Return to Headlines

NPHS Teacher Named Health Educator of the Year

September, 6

Alleman, IA - Teaching is one of the most noble professions one can hold. Helping mold, foster, and blossom our youth into strong learners, global citizens, and leaders within our society. While it is certainly rewarding in nature, the profession rarely comes with acknowledgment or accolades. In recognition of her exceptional dedication and contributions to education, Mrs. Anne Sloan, a teacher at North Polk High School, was recently honored as the 2023-24 SHAPE Iowa Health Educator of the Year.

SHAPE Iowa, the Society of Health and Physical Educators, was founded in 1921 by a group of school leaders and its mission is to provide leadership and support for the enhancement of movement, leisure, and health-related programs central to healthy, active lifestyles and lifelong learning.

Educators are allowed to win the SHAPE Iowa award only once. Sloan will now be in the running for the district Teacher of the Year award (comprised of nine Midwestern states), with the potential to move on and have a chance at claiming the national award as well.

While celebrating Mrs. Sloan's outstanding achievement, it's important to acknowledge and honor the other distinguished educators who were also recognized for their dedication to shaping our youth. These exceptional individuals include:

  • Stephanie Klaffke (Elementary) - Gilbert

  • Chris Christensen (Middle School) - Waukee

  • Jodi Larson (High School) - Ankeny

  • Ginger Halverson (Adapted PE) - Linn-Mar

  • Karla Lowe (Administrator) - Des Moines Christian

Mrs. Anne Sloan's recognition as the 2023-24 SHAPE Iowa Health Educator of the Year is a testament to her unwavering commitment to education and her students. Her dedication to shaping the future of our youth through health education is truly commendable. This prestigious award not only celebrates her outstanding contributions but also highlights the vital role educators like her play in our society.

Congratulations to Mrs. Sloan for this well-deserved honor!